Noor Nieftagodien (Chair)

Noor Nieftagodien is the South African Research Chair in Local Histories, Present Realities and is the Head of the History Workshop at the University of the Witwatersrand, where he also lectures in the Department of History. He has authored books on the history of Alexandra, Ekurhuleni and Kathorus, and recently published books on the history of Orlando West, the Soweto uprising, and co-edited a book on the history of the ANC and on student politics (Students Must Rise). In addition, he has published articles and book chapters on aspects of popular insurgent struggles, public history, youth politics and the state of the left in South Africa (New South African Review 5 and Global Resistance in Southern Perspective).

He is currently researching the relationship between local popular movements and the local state in the Vaal Triangle. Nieftagodien serves on the boards of the South African History Archives (SAHA), the Socio-Economic Rights Institute (SERI) and the Society, Work and Development Institute (SWOP), as well as the editorial boards of African Studies and Africa Perspectives Series.


Jaamia Galant (Secretary)

Jaamia Galant has an MEd (Mathematics Education) from UCT and is completing her PhD at the Institute of Education, University College London (UCL), focusing on research practices in Higher Education. She currently works as Faculty Planning Manager in the Faculty of Humanities, UCT and is Research Associate in the School of Education, UCT. For the past few years she has worked extensively on a research project focusing on management and pedagogic practices in poor schools that perform above schools with similar demographics.

Jaamia has continued her social activism from the anti-apartheid years to the present day, strongly aligning herself with the ongoing struggle of workers for social and economic justice. She has served as the Secretary of the Claremont Main Road Mosque (CMRM) Board since 2011, where she has played a leading role in their social justice campaigns. These have included the CMRM Jihad Against Poverty Campaign that supports solidarity efforts with poor and marginalised communities, including farmworkers.

Mark Weinberg (Treasurer) 

Mark Weinberg is an alternative media activists who cut his teeth in the student media movement. He has served in the leadership of the SA Student Press Union (SASPU), National Community Media Forum (NCMF), Freedom of Expression Institute (FXI), Siyathanda, Amandla Editorial Advisory Board, Right2Know National Working Group (R2K), and board of Cape Town Community Television (CTV). He has worked as Communication Coordinator of the SA NGO Coalition (SANGOCO), Deputy Director of the Alternative Information Development Centre (AIDC) and the National Coordinator of the Right2Know Campaign (R2K). He is currently with the Yetu Infotech Collective.

Other Board members:

Mercia Andrews
Jeff Rudin
Mazibuko Jara
Wilmien Wicomb
Lauren Paremoer
Khokhoma Motsi